Skip Navigation

When a student is absent from school, a parent should call the office by 10:00 AM each day of the absence.  If the office does not receive a call, a parent will be contacted.  This policy is for the protection of the St. Mary students and is aligned with the state statutes of the state of Oklahoma. (Oklahoma School Law 1998)

Students who become ill at school, are vomiting, have diarrhea and/or a temperature of 99.5 or more will be sent home.  In order to protect the health of the entire school community, students who are sent home during the school day must be symptom free for the 24 hours before they are allowed to return to school.  

A written statement giving reasons for the absence or tardiness must be brought to the student’s teacher upon the student’s return.  These notes/letters will be retained in the office for one year.  Should absence for any reason other than illness seem imperative, parents are requested to consult with the Principal and present a written reason for the absence.

The school calendar provides for extended weekends throughout the school year.  Parents are encouraged to schedule trips or family outings during these times so as to eliminate the need to interrupt a child’s learning process.  Missed assignments are the student’s responsibility. 

Students who are absent due to illness have one day for each day of absence to make up the missed assignments, quizzes or tests.  For example, a student who was absent three days would be given three school days to complete the missed work. When a student is absent for two or more days, a parent may call the school office before 9:30 AM to arrange for homework assignments.  Homework assignments may be picked up at the school office between 3:00 PM – 3:30 PM. For short absences, students should make arrangements with classmates regarding assignments.  Students may also receive missed assignments from their teacher when they return to school. Arrangements for regular classroom tests missed because of an absence are to be made with the individual teachers.  These tests must be taken within one week of the original test date.

Excessive absence (30) days or the equivalent of 30 days including tardies, can be cause for a student to be retained in the current grade for another year.

Students needing medical appointments during school hours require a written note by the parent.  Parents are required to sign out their child.  If the child returns to school during the same school day, he/she must be signed back into school in the office.  Students who are away from school for an appointment for 3 ½ hours or more will be counted as absent for ½ a day.  Three (3) early withdrawals each of which are less than 3 ½ hours are considered a one-half day absence.  

Students who are tardy more than 40 times will be charged an administrative fee of $5 per tardy or early withdrawal due to the excessive time and paperwork involved.